2025 EMGA Rules Refresher #5

 

FORE!

 

Okay, gentlemen.  Responses to these rules refreshers haven’t been as much (~10%) as I hoped. I get that. Who wants to take a quiz, especially about golf rules?  But what’s really disheartening is only a few more are clicking on the Youtube links to watch the rule demonstration.

 

So, desperate times call for desperate measures. 

 

I’ve added another link. And a bonus prize: Let’s Par-Tee.

 

Show your appreciation by taking a shot at the quiz.

 

********************

Rule 6.1b

 

When you tee up your ball outside the teeing area and take a swing, you better hope you’re playing Match Play. 

In Match Play, your opponent can let the stroke count or he can make you re-hit from within the tee box. With either option, there is no penalty.

In Stroke Play, you’re not so lucky,  It’s a two stroke penalty that must be rectified before you tee off from the next hole, otherwise you’re disqualified. Ouch!

 

One of the links below explains it further, the other, you tell me.

 

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/9w26c5bnU10

 

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/xvdJXnse7F4

 

********************* 

Rules Refresher Quiz #4

Q4. In stroke play, a player searches for their ball for three minutes and does not find it. The player looks for another minute, finds the ball and plays it. What is the ruling?

a. There is no penalty.

b. The player gets the general penalty for playing a wrong ball, as well as the stroke-and-distance penalty for a lost ball.

c. The player gets the general penalty for unreasonable delay.

 

The answer is “b”.  This is one of the rare scenarios you get penalized twice.  The ball is lost after three minutes and without a Local Rule E-5 in effect (which the EMGA doesn’t do), the player must hit from the previous spot under stroke-and-distance penalty relief.  Thus, his original, newly found ball becomes a wrong ball when he plays it.

Explanation Definition Wrong Ball; Rule 6.3c(1); Rule 18.2b

 

And the winner of Q4 is….Tim Marburger!

*******************   

Rules Refresher Quiz #5.

Q5. A player’s ball lies off but near the putting green; the player is allowed relief from temporary water that exists on the putting green if it is on their line of play.

TRUE or FALSE

 

Prize:  He Shoots, He Scores

 

Hit’em straight and not too often,

 

Tom McKernan

Rules and Handicaps

Sent by Eisenhower Golf Club. Unsubscribe



Attachments:

He_Shoots_He_Scores.JPG
Lets_Par-Tee.JPG