EMGA Rules Refresher #7

FORE!

 

It was a treat to finally play the Silver Back 9 on Tuesday but now I know why it’s taken this long.  For example, Hole #12 (w/temp green) was a bit squishy with still plenty of melting snow on the fairway hillside and the entire green had water over your shoe soles.  So, today’s rule topic and quiz question (easy!) are timely.

 

Oh, and I hit a few irons like this:  https://www.youtube.com/shorts/UBhX2aHDPNE

 

Rule 16.3 Embedded Ball
The Rules of Golf have two guiding principles:  Play the ball as it lies and Play the course as you find it.
BUT
What happens when you get an Embedded Ball?

 

First the definition. An Embedded Ball is when a player’s ball is in its own pitch-mark made as a result of the player’s previous stroke and where part of the ball is below the level of the ground.

 

When you have an Embedded Ball in the General Area, which is everywhere except the tee and green on the hole you are on, and any bunker or penalty area, you get free relief if you want. For an embedded ball on the green, you get to mark it, lift, repair the pitch mark, and replace your ball.

 

Here’s a 30 second video about it:

 

******************* 
Rules Refresher Quiz #7
Q7. Which is correct regarding temporary water in the general area?
a. Overflow from a red penalty area filled with water is not temporary water.
b. Soft, mushy earth with water visible on the surface is not temporary water.
c. A ball lying in a pitch-mark filled with water is in temporary water.

 

Prize: Golf is My Retirement Plan
*******************   
Rules Refresher Quiz #6
Q6.  Which is correct regarding a player who decides to take unplayable ball relief? (Ref# 215) 
a. The player may drop back-on-the-line outside the penalty area for two strokes if their ball is in a penalty area. 
b. The player may drop a ball in a penalty area, if the original ball lies in the general area. 
c. The player may decide to take unplayable ball relief when their ball lies anywhere on the course. 

 

Correct Answer:  “b”.   Rule 19 Unplayable Ball, specifically states that for both Back-on-the-Line Relief (Rule 19.2b) and Lateral Relief (Rule 19.2b), that the relief area “may be in any area of the course…”
The other two answers are wrong because using the Back-on-the-Line option is only a one stroke penalty and you can’t take unplayable ball relief in a penalty area.
And the winner of Q6 is… Patrick Burke! 
Prize:  Let’s Par-Tee

 

Hit’em straight and not too often,
 
Tom McKernan
Rules and Handicaps

Sent by Eisenhower Golf Club. Unsubscribe

Attachments:

Golf_is_My_Retirement_Plan.jpeg