EMGA Rules Refresher #10

FORE!

 

Ahhh…Spring! 

 

 

We’re down to our last question in our Rules Refresher contest and it has my favorite prize.  A few of you have been perfect thus far. Our last question concerns taking relief from temporary water.  Did you know that Snow and Natural Ice (other than frost), are either loose impediments or, when on the ground, temporary water, at the player’s option?

 

What rules should you know?  The simple answer is “All of them.”

However, knowing just a few common ones like those addressed in this Rules Refresher series, will handle most situations.

 

The EMGA expects all our members to conduct themselves according to the Rules of Golf whether playing in a league competition, or a round outside the league (Rule 1).  We ask each of our members to have a basic knowledge of the most common Rules of Golf, i.e. know how to take Relief from a Penalty Area (Rule 17), to handle a lost ball (Rule 18) or an Unplayable Ball (Rule 19), for accurate scoring and to keep up pace of play.

 

When unsure of a rule, you can always ask for help within your group but they can’t give you nor can you ask, for advice on what to do like, “Which of the penalty relief options should I choose?” That’s a rules breach. You can take the time to quickly reference the USGA Rule Book or App but please don’t cause an undo delay.  If you’re still unsure on how to proceed, you can play two balls.  It’s all explained in great detail under Rule 20.1c Rules Issues in Stroke Play, but basically it’s this:

  • Play on with your original ball with your best guess on how to proceed, and at the end of the round report the possible rules infraction to the Competition Committee for adjudication.
  • Put a second ball in play, play both it and the original until both are holed out, note the scores for each ball, and at the end of the round report the situation to the Competition Committee for adjudication.              

 

Did you know that we have a responsibility to prevent a rule breach by another player?  It’s addressed under Rule 20.1c.(2) Players should protect other players in the Competition. We want all members to enjoy themselves but there may come a time that you may have to call out a fellow member for a possible rules infraction.  Please do this delicately. Approach the individual and say something to the effect, “I think you are about to commit (or have committed) a rules infraction under Rule so-and-so.  Do you agree?” If the member doesn’t agree with you, don’t argue, but say, “Let’s report this to the committee to make sure one of us is correct.”

 

There’s no need to feel intimidated if this is your first experience of a league that prides itself in playing golf on how it should be played.  Our members and the league leadership are more than willing to help you play your best game and have fun doing it.

*****************

Rules Refresher Quiz #9

Q9. The original ball is no longer in play if a player has played a provisional ball from a spot nearer the hole than where the original ball is estimated to be.

True or False? 

 

The answer is TRUE and the winner is…Don Becker!

 Prize:  I’m Retired, Ask Somebody Else

*******************    

Rules Refresher Quiz #10.

Q10. In stroke play, a player substitutes a ball when dropping to take relief from temporary water. The original ball was immediately recoverable. What is the ruling if they have not yet made a stroke at the dropped ball?

a. The player must mark the substituted ball, lift it and place the original ball on the spot where the substituted ball lay.

b. The player must lift the substituted ball and drop the original ball.

c. The player must play the substituted ball as it lies.

 

Prize:  The Price is Wrong!

******************* 

 

Hit’em straight but not too often,

 

Tom McKernan

Rules & Handicaps

Sent by Eisenhower Golf Club. Unsubscribe


Attachments:

The_Price_is_Wrong.JPG