2025 EMGA Rules Refresher Winners!

FORE!

 

The Results are in!

 

We had 30 contestants that played the game but not all played each week.  We did have two players with perfect scores:  President Larry Walker and Vice President Don Knight Unfortunately for them, due to Competition Rule 3, Section 5, Paragraph C, Subparagraph 3.4 (ii), the Pres and VP are not eligible to win the final award. (aka the fine print).

 

So, we had three players with 9 correct answers, Patrick Burke, Don Becker and Charles Couch.  They’ll split the $30 prize, $10 each; it’ll be deposited in their pro shop account soon.

Honorable mention goes to Sam Bryant and Rosario Nici for having 8 correct responses.

 

Some notes from the competition…

  • We had a total of 30 EMGA players respond thru out the competition
  • On question #1 (accidently moving your ball marker), all 17 respondents got it correct
  • Question #5 (temp water on green relief) had the most replies, with 18 of 25 getting it correct
  • Rules Refresher #5 email also had the most views, thank you Paige Spiranac!
  • Ever respondent got at least one question correct with one exception.  He tried once and was never heard from again!
  • However, don’t get too cocky, nine contestants only got one question correct!
  • And we had 10 individual winners for the weekly prize, no one won twice.

 

Weekly Winner Prize
Don Becker I’m Retired Ask Somebody Else
Terry Bennett The Legend has Retired
Sam Bryant It’s All in the Hips Lesson
Patrick Burke  Let’s Par-Tee
Charles Couch Shooter
Rick Horn He Shoots,  He Scores
Tim Marburger Officially Retired
Rosario Nici Golf is My Retirement Plan
Ken Pearson It’s all in the Hips
Geo Roberts The Price is Wrong

 

So, our last question was this: 

Rules Refresher Quiz #10.

Q10. In stroke play, a player substitutes a ball when dropping to take relief from temporary water. The original ball was immediately recoverable. What is the ruling if they have not yet made a stroke at the dropped ball?

a. The player must mark the substituted ball, lift it and place the original ball on the spot where the substituted ball lay.

b. The player must lift the substituted ball and drop the original ball.

c. The player must play the substituted ball as it lies.

 The correct answer is “c”.  You are allowed to substitute your original ball when taking free or penalty relief.  So, in this scenario, that is why “c” is correct, the substituted ball becomes the ball in play as soon as it is dropped.  Conversely,  Rule 14 also states that, “When a lifted or moved ball is to be replaced, the same ball must be set down on its original spot.”

And the winner is… Geo Roberts!

Prize:  The Price is Wrong!

******************* 

Hit’em straight but not too often,

 

 Tom McKernan

Rules & Handicaps

Sent by Eisenhower Golf Club. Unsubscribe